BCCI: IPL 2022 Will Have 2 New Teams!

Friday, October 1, 2021

/ by mansuralisaha

 The News Cover: The Indian Premier League (IPL) currently has 8 teams. On 28th September BCCI officially announced that there will be 10 IPL teams in 2022. to celebrate the 15th edition of the league. However, the teams will be announced only on 25th October 2021. The BCCI has made the announcement but as per the IPL rules, companies interested in buying the teams need to fill the tender form by paying Rs 10 lakh. 

The amount for the form is non-refundable. The document will contain details of the company's finances, staff salaries, cricketer's salaries, airfare, accommodation, etc. Many companies will submit such tenders. After getting all the tenders, IPL will evaluate them. For example, if 8 tenders are submitted, 3 may be rejected and the remaining 5 will bid for the 2 teams in Dubai on 25th October. The auction will start from Rs 2,000 crore. The highest bidder will buy the teams. Currently, in the IPL, there are teams of cities like Mumbai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, etc. Now the two new teams may be from 6 cities Guwahati, Ahmedabad, Lucknow, Cuttack, Ranchi, and Dharamsala. However, no confirmation has been made yet. Those who may submit tenders are Sanjiv Goenka of the RPSG Group, Ahmedabad-based Adani Group, Torrent Pharmaceuticals, and Aurobindo Pharma. 

Adani Group is aiming to buy the franchise based in Ahmedabad. We will have to wait for the auction. This is not the first time that there will be more than 8 teams in the IPL. In the year 2011, there were 10 teams when the Pune Warriors and the Kochi Tuskers were added. Then in 2013, Kochi Tuskers were removed and 9 teams played the IPL. The IPL will carry on with 10 teams.

No comments

Post a Comment

News Cover © all rights reserved
made with by templateszoo