ICC :World Test Championship final-India and New Zealand "Southampton to host"

Friday, March 12, 2021

/ by mansuralisaha


The News Cover: International Cricket Council noticed that there are World Cups for ODI and T20I formats. But there has never been a World Cup for Test Cricket. Cricket was first played in Test matches and then new formats of ODI and T20 were introduced which ended in a day. A Test match has to be played patiently for 5 days. 

While an ODI or T20 is a more aggressive form of the game. Test match is played patiently till the opponents are all out. After an ODI or a T20 match, the next day is a rest day. But a Test match has to be played every day for 5 days. The player needs to be fit for this. As there was no world cup, to respect the original format it was decided to start one.

The top nine ranked teams on the MRF Tyres ICC Test Rankings as of 31 August 2018 qualified. These rankings are based on the team's performance in earlier played matches These nine teams were Australia, Bangladesh, England, India New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies The last three teams on the ranking - Zimbabwe, Ireland, and Afghanistan did not qualify. Only the top nine teams qualified to play the ICC World Test Championship that started from 1st August 2019, for a period of 2 years ending in June 2021. 

This was the World Test Championship. Let me tell you more about it. For example, India is one of the nine teams. Out of the remaining nine teams, India must play series with 6 teams. In the same way, other teams, say Australia must play with 6 other teams out of the remaining 8 teams. If we take India for example, 3 series should be played in India. Any 3 teams like Australia, England, etc. should come to India to play the series. For the other 3 series, India should go to other countries to play.

Similarly, England will play 3 series at home and 3 series away. The series cannot be of just one match. The series should have 2 to 5 matches. Suppose if India and England are playing a series, they can have a 2 test match series. The teams can decide to have more than 2 matches. There were a total of 71 test matches between the 9 teams. 

The teams were ranked based on the points during their matches. ICC was responsible for the calculation of the points. ICC worked with Members Boards like BCCI, PCB, Cricket Australia, etc., for all organizational matters and the schedule. The broadcast, advertisers, ticketing, etc would be decided by the board of the 2 teams playing the test. 

ICC has laws for the game that everyone including umpires has to follow. However, ICC is also responsible for the delivery of the ICC World Test Championship final including the broadcast rights. Recently, India won the Test series against England by 3-1. With this win, India secured its place in the Final against New Zealand. The final starting from 18th June 2021 is a one-off test match. The winner of the final will be the ICC World Test Champion. The second World Test Championship is scheduled from June 2021 to 30 April 2023.

No comments

Post a Comment

News Cover © all rights reserved
made with by templateszoo